Vacation in Volumes

So, if you’ve seen a couple of my past blog posts, you’ll know that I am currently on vacation. My family and I are taking a two-week sojourn in the beautiful state of Michigan, traveling from one city to the next with exhausting velocity. Today we took an eight mile kayaking trip on a river whose name I’m too lazy to spell, and now I’m chilling in the hotel room for a moment before grabbing a cup of coffee. Anyways, since we’ve been traveling from place to place so much, I’ve had a lot of time to read. And knowing that I’d have a lot of time to read, I brought a fair amount of books (not counting those on my iPad). I always bring books in different genres to fit my possible moods. This post is kind of like a book haul post, but just vacation-y themed, since I already bought most of these books and have been just waiting for a time to read them!

1. More Than This by Patrick Ness (The Dystopian) 

I got a free copy of this from a library contest about a year ago, but somehow never got around to reading it. I finished it the other day, though, and it was a lot more interesting than I honestly thought it would be. I was a little bit confused to as where it was going first, but before long I was fully hooked.

images-3

2.Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (The Fantasy) 

I got this book from Barnes and Nobles a while ago, but it became hidden on my shelf over the months, and I just never got to it. I’ve started it on this trip, and so far, am liking what I’m seeing. Only about a hundred pages in, though, (and this book is massive), so I can’t judge yet. I think this one has the prettiest cover of all the ones I brought, though, so even though you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, it didn’t hurt when I picked it out.

Unknown-10

3. So Long and Thanks for all the Fish by Douglas Adams (The Science Fiction with Humor) 

This is the fourth book in the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, and I just had to bring at least one of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy books. So Long won by luck of the draw. And by draw I mean I was running late and picked up the first one I saw and crammed it into my book bag. I also brought the guide to the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, so I could read up on some fun facts!

4. Kissed by An Angel by Elizabeth Chandler (The Romance) 

See my past review for what I thought about this one. It was not good things. Not good things. But…an easy read for a vacation.

Kissed by an Angel

5. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson (The Classic) 

This was one of my dad’s favorites, and it looks adventure-y, which I thought was good for an adventure-y vacation. Hopefully I’ll get to read this one soon, maybe while on the way to Mackinac Island. Then I would just smile with satisfaction every time I compared the two islands because I’m that kind of person.

6. Artemis Fowl and the Arctic Incident by Eoin Colfer (Another Fantasy, but with a very different feel) 

I love Artemis Fowl, and every time I go somewhere I cannot resist bringing at least one book that I’ve read at least ten times. It’s like how some people bring their favorite pillows or their most worn-in stuffed animals. I always need at least one book that is like an old friend to me, and this book was that one.

Artemis Fowl


 

I’m also reading a few books like Gone with the Wind and Anna Karenina on my iPad, but those ones above are the only physical books I brought. I’ll probably have read them all by the time I finish the week out, and so if you have any suggestions, I’m stopping by a bookstore soon and would love to have them! Also, what are your favorite books to bring on vacation? Do you usually prefer a certain genre over another while on the go? Let me know in the comments! As always, thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Vacation in Volumes

  1. You’re lucky to be able to read in the car. I get awful motion sickness, so I stick to audiobooks for long trips. Like you, I bring a variety of genres while on vacation – I did a post about it last month:
    http://abibliophilesstyle.wordpress.com/2014/05/06/top-five-tuesday-beach-vacation-edition/
    Treasure Island is one of my favorite classics! There is a character who dies from “thundering apoplexy” (stroke) and when my brother first read it he thought the guy was struck by lightning. 😛

    Like

    • Oh, no, I hate motion sickness! My brother and sister both get it; I count myself lucky that I managed not to have it! Ooh, yay, now I’m even more excited to read Treasure Island. Haha that sounds like a mistake I would make as well, lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

