Liebster Award! :)

So, yay, another award! I actually got this one about a week back, but I’ve been super busy so it’s not going up until now. Anyways, thank you so much to the super dupity awesome Selah at A Bibliophile’s Style for nominating me for this award. You are awesome cubed.

The rules are as follows:
-First, post 11 random facts about yourself.
-Then, answer the 11 questions that the person who nominated you will post.
-Finally, choose 11 new blogs with under 200 followers for their Liebster Award, notify them that they have been nominated, and think of 11 questions for them to answer!

So, I’m going to answer the questions posted by Selah! Since I already did some random facts about myself in my last award, I’ll skip out on that part. (I know, I know. Cheating is wrong. But this is more like a short cut, you know?)

Why did you start blogging? 

Well, I’ve been reviewing books on the site readdreamrelax for a while, and since I liked doing the book reviews so much, I figured why not start my own? That way, not only could I review books (and get a couple of ARC, so cool!) but I could add in my own random thoughts to the mix. Plus, it’s a great way to get to connect with other book lovers!

Where did your blog name come from? 

Ugh. Names. Names are often some of the worst things for me, because it takes me forever to pick one, and then immediately after I pick it I just sit around fretting that it wasn’t a good one. The same thing happens when I’m writing books, although I know I can change them as often as I want. Anyways, there were a lot of names that I thought about but were taken, and a lot of names that weren’t taken but my brother shot down as awful. Raised Reading seemed accurate enough, though. Ever since I was little, I’ve been reading vicariously. My parents both encouraged me to go to the library as often as I could, and reading was just such a huge part of my childhood (along with my life, now) that it made sense to me.

What’s your favorite of your own blog posts? 

Hmm. So far, I’d have to say my Battle of the Bad Boys post, from one of my Friday Fight Day posts. It was so fun to write, and I loved reading the different comments I got. Plus, I got to have a mini arts and craft section with the picture :).

How do you find new blogs to follow? 

Lots of different ways. If someone is commenting a lot of interesting, funny, or sweet things on my blog then I’ll usually check out theirs and follow (if I haven’t yet, I promise it’s not you! It’s just that I’m really scatterbrained and I procrastinate and then I forget! But I do try!). A lot of the times, I’ll just explore the books or travel category (two of my favorite blogging topics) on the Reader, and if I like a post I find then I’ll follow.

Would you ever stop following a blog? Why? 

I mean, sure. If they start posting a bunch of stuff that I strongly dislike, or if they never post anything at all, then what’s the point of continuing to follow them? Of course, like I said in the question before, I’m scatterbrained and a procrastinator, so most likely the latter wouldn’t really apply, since I would probably not notice. But yeah, if a blog starts to post things that don’t interest me or that I really just dislike, then I’d unfollow them. That said, I haven’t yet.

What is your opinion on commenting on blog posts? 

I lurvvvve them. I didn’t realize when starting blogging (which was only two weeks ago, but feels like so much longer!) how interactive all these people are. I expected maybe ten followers and a handful of comments, but that was not the case. Every time I see a new comment, I get all giddy inside. So, for everyone who has ever commented on one of my posts–thank you! I adore you all.

There are certain bloggers who opinions I value. When they give a good review I will go out of my way to read that book. Name a blogger whose opinions you value and explain why. 

So, I’m totally not saying this because she was the one who nominated me for this award; I really do value the opinion of Selah. Whenever she comments on my blog she leaves insightful, meaningful comments that make me more likely to trust her opinions. Of course, I value a lot of other bloggers opinions, too, but Selah was the first that came to mind.

Name one author whose books you will always read. 

There are so many that it makes me feel nauseous choosing just one, but I’ll go with Meg Cabot. Her books are supremely funny, adorable, and often with a romantic twist. They are perfect reads for whenever you’re feeling down, or whenever you just feel like cuddling up in bed with a girly book and a pet dog. (Or cat!) (Or parakeet!) (Or imaginary friend!)

If you could only recommend one book for another to read, what would it be and why?

The Princess Bride by William Goldman. The Harry Potter is also one of my favorite books, but so many people have read it that I can’t really recommend it anymore. The Princess Bride has everything. Action, romance, betrayal, backstory, wit, humor, sword fights, true love, magic…how could you not like it? I’ve read it too many times to count. Amazing. Absolutely amazing. A lot of people have seen the movie, and stop there, but don’t! The movie is also fantastic, but you really do need to read the book in addition.

What is your most anticipated read of 2014? 

Hmm, probably City of Heavenly Fire. I’m a huge fan of the Mortal Instrument series, but I’m taking my sweet time getting to the very last book in the series. First, I’m going to reread all the books leading up to it, just so everything is sharp in my mind. But yeah, this is one that I know I’m going to love.

One of the recent themes of Top Ten Tuesday was: if you like this TV show/film, you should read the book. Provide a book recommendation based on your favorite film or TV. 

Let’s see. If you like Once Upon a Time, try out the Sister’s Grimm. The book is written for middle-grade, so if you like reading on the younger side of YA, then this book will delight you in that it centers around famous characters reimagined such as the Big Bad Wolf, Puck from a Midsummer’s Night Dream, and Snow White.

So, those are a few answers to a few questions. Now, for my nominations: 

Since I don’t know that many bloggers with less than 200 followers that I haven’t nominated for a Very Inspiring Blogger Award, I’m just going to list a few.

Ello Kelsey

My Empty Avenue

Sadiyazhar

Books The Final Frontier

But anyways, thanks for taking the time to read through this award post! I love answering questions, so this was really fun. Feel free to share your own answers to any of the questions posted in the comments below. I look forward to hearing your answers! 🙂

Also, thanks again to Selah for nominating me!

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award! :)

  1. Aww, thank you! It’s nice to know my opinion is valued. 🙂
    The Princess Bride is an excellent book! I think part of the reason the film is so good is because it really sticks closely to the heart and story of the book. It helps that William Goldman is an Oscar winning screenwriter and wrote the screenplay for his own book. 😉
    I might give The Sisters Grimm a try with my son. He likes “fractured fairy tales”. Keep the middle grade recs coming, I’ve got a voracious reader on my hands! 😀

    Like

    • Of course it is! 🙂
      Yes, the Princess Bride is awesome! Yes, the film works so well alongside the book, and the acting was excellent. Plus, like you said, William Goldman is amazing. I think he wrote Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, too!
      Yes, your son would love it! I read it when I was in eight grade, and I fell in love instantly. Haha, I will definitely post if I read some amazing middle grade books! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

