What I’m Working on Wednesday (July 9th)

Hi! For those of you who don’t know, What I’m Working on Wednesday is just a weekly recap of what I’ve been writing. This week I’ve been ‘busy’ with such things as insane amounts of Netflixing, lazing by the pool, and also keeping up with some visa stuff that I need to spend next year in England. So I haven’t been writing all that much, but I’ve snuck in at least a few pages.

What I’m Working On: 

Writing: 

-I’m still busy at work on my classic fairy tale retelling for the short story submissions of last week. I’ve definitely narrowed my story down to Rumpelstiltskin. In the story, Rumpel is the commander of a league of fledgling magicians who have been waiting for the Golden Prophecy to come to fruition. The prophecy states that one day, an evil witch of stunning beauty, and with the power to spin gold from ordinary objects, will give birth to a demon that will consume the entire Kingdom. Rumpel and his men have found the witch, but the powers that protect her leave no way for a physical attack. Fortunately, the witch is fond of games…

-Still working on URBAN LEGENDS. I don’t know about anyone else, but the hardest part for me is the middle of the books. I often skip a couple of scenes and then go back to them later, and that’s what Im doing right now. It’s kind of cool to have spent so long in the future chapters of the book, only to come back to the parts where my main character and her surroundings were so different. I know that I wrote the book, but it’s like I discover some new things about her every time I sit down to write.

Sample: 

“They say she spins straw into gold, sir.”

“They say she seduced the king without saying a word, sir.”

“And they say she’s a fine piece of work.”

I turn towards Edward and scowl. It’s completely like him to focus on the physical features of the girl before all else. He’s the youngest of the soldiers on my watch, as well as the least structured. His mind wanders in a way that makes me doubt his capabilities on the field. It would be just like him to end up falling under the spell of the girl. I know he’s the youngest of my men, but does he have to accentuate it by being the most immature?

“Hair as radiant as the gold she spins. And eyes with the intensity of a mermaid’s scales. So we know how to identify her,” he modifies, hastily. “Sir.”

I sigh. The most immature, but also the most adaptable. He could bullshit his way out of anything. I once witnessed a woman apologize to him after he left her.

“Fine. Anything else?”

My men are silent, all eight of them.

“That’s all? That’s all you scavengers came up with? I gave you a whole week, and all you can tell me is that she’s a pretty woman?”

“And she spins gold, sir!” Thomas peeps up, nervously.

“Thank you, Thomas. It’s nice to know she fits the bounds of the prophecy. Of course she spins gold.” I shake my head and stalk away, calling out, “Eight more hours. Give me something. Anything. Go. And if you can’t find anything, then don’t come back. Disgrace and banishment will be a light punishment compared to what I’ll have in store.”

Thanks for reading! I hope you liked it! Are you working on anything at the moment? If so, tell me about it in the comments! I love hearing from you!

8 thoughts on “What I’m Working on Wednesday (July 9th)

  1. I hate the beginning myself. I think I put too much pressure on myself because of its importance to someone reading the story or giving up.

    Nice start to your story. Rumple is one of my favorite characters! Will you be posting the entire story online?

    Like

    • I like writing beginnings; editing them is the hard part for me. Because, like you said, they’re so important, that when I’m finally done with the book that’s what I’ll concentrate on.

      Thank you! I love Rumpelstiltskin’s story, so I thought it’d be fun to play around with a different version of it.

      I might post the whole story online. It’s for a short story submission in the upcoming month, so if it doesn’t get published in that, then I’ll post it online.

      Like

  2. I totally feel you about insane amounts of Netflixing! It is definitely an addiction of mine!
    I love the start of the Rumpelstiltskin’s story! I just finished watching all four seasons of Once Upon a Time, so I am totally into fairytales right now. I thought it was great and hope to read more of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

