What I’m Working on Wednesday (July 16th)

Hello, all, and welcome back to What I’m  Working on Wednesday. This is just a weekly thing I do to talk about what projects I’ve been working on recently. And sometimes, I put out a sample of whatever I’m writing. 🙂

Right now, Camp NaNoWriMo is going on. For those who don’t know, Camp NaNoWriMo is a less high pressure version of NaNoWriMo. Instead of the standard challenge of 50,000 words, you get to pick your own goal. If you meet that goal (minimum of 10,000 words) then you’re deemed a winner, and you get lots of cool writer goodies as well as the thrill of personal achievement. Since I really want to finish up my novel, URBAN LEGENDS, before the end of the summer, I decided to continue working on that in favor of starting fresh. So much of what I’ve been working on this week falls under that category.

This is my first year doing Camp NaNoWriMo. In fact, I had no idea such a thing even existed until I saw a fellow blogger’s post about it. I do, however, participate in the traditional November National Novel Writing Month. Last November was my third time going for the 50,000 words in a month. I barely made it, with 30 words over the goal. *Wipes sweat off brow*. I also completed the 50,000 words my second year. The first time I participated was the only time I failed to make the goal, and that just made me more determined to do it the next time around. I also found friends who did NaNoWriMo as well, and having their support and vigilance was a huge help.

I like the Camp version because you can set your own goal, and you have cabin mates who are there to act as a support group. It’s less of a high intensity rush than a leisurely way to motivate yourself to get stuff done. It doesn’t have the thrill of the November version, though. There’s just something so sacred about the month of November. It feels like an important time, and it’s also more of a challenge, since I have a lot less time. This might sound like another reason to like Camp NaNo, but then, I like challenges.

In any case, it’s about halfway through the month, and I’m on track to meet my goal of 10,000 words. I know it’s a small goal, but that’s because I’m almost done with URBAN LEGENDS, and I don’t think there are more than 10,000-15,000 words that need to go into it. Plus, while I finish up the parts that need to be finished, I’m editing…which means every now and then I’m subtracting a thousand words. Probably not the best tactic to get NaNo done, but then, I did say I like a challenge.

What about you? Do you participate in National Novel Writing Month? Camp NaNoWriMo? If so, how’s your progress going? Let me know in the comments! 

 

10 thoughts on “What I’m Working on Wednesday (July 16th)

  1. This is a really awesome idea! I’m currently doing Camp NaNo with a goal of 65,000 words which I am about 75% done with. This is my first Camp session while last November was my first NaNo, which I barely won. =)

    Like

    • Thank you! 😀
      Wow, 65,000 words is impressive! That’s so awesome. Yay, first time Campers here! Congrats on doing so well. I don’t think I could do 65,000 words in a month unless I was under some kind of threat. I don’t know how you do it!

      Like

      • You don’t sleep…that’s how you do it. You basically only write, sometimes you even forget to eat. =) But I mean some of my cabin mates are going for like 100,000 and they’re on track to make it, I don’t think I could do that much!

        Like

  2. Congrats on coming close to meeting your goal :)! Good luck with the rest of the month.

    I do like the fact that you can have cabin mates and being able to set your own goals. I feel like there is more of a connection with other writers that way as well as setting your own pace. I still prefer November, however, because I do like the hype that gets built up beforehand :).

    I’ve been trying to motivate myself to do Camp NaNo this year, but it started off on the wrong foot and I haven’t been able to catch up. I haven’t given up yet, however :).

    Like

    • Thank you! 😀
      Yes, having cabin mates is cool. It really is like a little camp. But same here, November is just where it’s at.
      Yeah, you still have half a month left! I bet you can do it 😀

      Like

  3. Hi Erin, it sounds like you have been quite productive this month. Good job! 🙂 I like the idea of Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ve head it mentioned before but wasn’t sure what it was until I read your post. Thanks for filling me in. 😀

    Like

    • Thank you! 😀
      Of course! Yeah, it’s pretty cool. I don’t like it as much as the real NaNoWriMo, because it seems like everybody gets more pumped up for the November event and it’s awesome having that sense of something important going on, but it’s a great summer thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

