Stacking the Shelves (1)

Hi, everyone. I already do a few weekly memes, such as Top Ten Tuesday, and my own What I’m Working on Wednesday, so this isn’t an official meme that I’ll be doing every week, but I thought that I’d try it out once, and since I have a pretty sizable book collection that I acquired this week, I figured why not now? Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. Here’s the list of books that I got this week, whether it be from the library, NetGalley, or an actual bookstore.

STSmall_thumb[2]

 

1. Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira (Library) 

I saw so many good reviews about this book on other blogs, and when I saw it at my library I got really excited. I finished it the same day. The general feel of it was similar to Perks of Being a Wallflower, and although I liked Perks more than I liked Love Letters to the Dead, it was still beautiful and vaguely haunting.

2. and 3. American Gods and Stardust by Neil Gaiman (Bought) 

Yay! I’m so glad to finally have some Neil Gaiman books on my shelves. I can’t believe it took me so long to start reading one of his books, but a lot of people have recommended him to me, and so I finally started to actively search for a couple of his titles. I’m about 200 pages into American Gods, and I’m surprised at how funny it is. Some parts kind of freak me out (I’m barely a college student–still reading mainly YA books!) but everything is written so great that I see why he’s considered a legend.

4. Dave Barry Turns 50 by Dave Barry (Library) 

He is hilarious. His books are hilarious. What else can I say?

5. Obsidian (Lux series) by Jennifer Armentrout (Library) 

One of my friends said this book was cool, and I’ve seen it mentioned a couple of other places, so I decided I’ll give it  a try.

6. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (Library) 

I’m re-reading this series before I get to City of Heavenly Fire. I just want to make sure I freshen up on all the little details, and besides, it’s not like I mind reading this series again, haha. I mean, who would? I have the second, and fourth book in this series, so the rest I have to borrow before I finally buy the last one. I’m really looking forward to meeting some of my favorite characters again.

7. The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud (Library) 

The librarian picked this one out for me. It looks promising, and from what I’ve heard, Stroud is just the kind of snarky, sarcastic writer that I like!

So, those are the books that I have stacked up this week, and I’m eager to get started on them all. I’m always excited when I get new books, but I feel like these are some pretty strong titles that won’t disappoint!

What are you reading this week? Stacked up any new reads? Tell me about them! Or leave suggestions for new books! 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (1)

  1. American Gods reminded me of an awesome comic book in novel form! It was a great, enjoyable read, though I haven’t really examined it as far as “female archetypes/stereotypes” which I’m now concerned with! 🙂 Enjoy!

    Like

  2. Love Letters to the Dead looks so good! Everybody seemed to have enjoyed it. And yay, Neil Gaiman! I’ve only read one of his books so far (Neverwhere) which was awesome, so I really need to get on with that. Stardust sounds amazing though, seeing as the film was brilliant. I hope you enjoy your books. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

