My Bookshelves

So, I’ve seen a couple of posts around the Blog-O-Sphere showcasing reader’s bookshelves, and since I really enjoy looking at other’s shelves, I thought I’d do a post showing my own.

I don’t know about anyone else, but reorganizing my bookshelves is a recurring phenomena. I can only go so long with the same book shelf layout. Over the years, I’ve organized my books by author, by title, by genre, and even by color. Usually, I end up reverting back to the last name of the author within the set genre. Since I have a fair amount of  books it can be a bit of a hassle getting them all lined up again, but it’s actually quite soothing to sit on the floor surrounded by hundreds of books, stacking them into pile upon pile. It takes me hours to organize them because I always get distracted by books that I haven’t read in a while, and the first page turns into the second which turns into the third–and you know how the story goes. (Haha, story. Get it…book…story? Sorry…that was lame.)

My Bookshelves

My Bookshelves: (From BL up, to TL, to TR then down to BR) 1. Literary Fiction, Horror 2. Fantasy Pt. 1 3. Action/Adventure/Misc. 4. YA Contemporary Fiction, Chick-Lit, Romance 5. Mythology and Fairy Tales 6. Humor, TBR, Books That Have No Other Home (So…like Hermes’ Cabin in the Percy Jackson Series) 7. Books written before 1950, children’s books 8. Favorite’s Shelf 9. Paranormal Romance/Dark Fantasy 10. Science Fiction 11. Books in Diary Form, Historical 12. Mystery, Fantasy Pt. 2 

These are my bookshelves from my latest organizational overhaul. (It’s funny…I’m a self-proclaimed and other people-proclaimed disorganized person in almost all aspects of my life. But my books are the one thing about me that I keep in tight running order. Even when my books are scattered on my floor, I still always know where they are.) Instead of an alphabetical variation which is what I normally do, I decided to just clump shelves by certain genres and organize in different stacks and sorts the books that belong to said genre. It’s the first time all my books aren’t just lined up spine-to-spine, and although I’m two months into liking it, I have a feeling I’ll switch it back to alphabetical and straight before long.

Favorite Books

Favorite Books

This is my favorite shelf of all my book shelves. Literally…it’s where I keep all my favorite books (only one book from each series). The newest addition on there is American Gods, which found its way there early this morning. I’m so glad somebody recommended it to me on one of my blog posts. I think that’s one of the great things about having a blog and interacting with other people–I’ve read so many awesome books that I might never have done if not for all of you. My favorite shelf is fairly constant, although some books find their way on after a second read through, and some books I eventually decide aren’t up to par compared with all the other books I love. But for the most part, they are my precioussssss, and I love them. Like, a lot. Like, my love is actually kind of destructive. I’m so sorry Jane Eyre. So sorry.

Anyways, those were my bookshelves! They’re no grand library, no magnificent, beautiful, soul-searching enclave of wonder…but they’re mine. I’ve travelled to different countries and brought back those books. I’ve visited countless Half Price Book Stores, Barnes and Nobles, and Books-A-Millions for them. I’ve read them by the pool, in my bed, lying on the floor, while on road trips, and when I’m feeling particularly fearless: in the bath (again, so sorry Jane Eyre!). They’ve been laughs at two in the morning, friends during my worst moments, and a source of inspiration, always. They’re home. And I’m so lucky to have them.

Do you have a favorite shelf on your bookcase? What kind of books are on it?

Do you have any cool ways of organizing your books? I could use an awesome new method! Let me know in the comments below! 

26 thoughts on “My Bookshelves

  1. Lovely.. Made my heart cry a bit.. I miss my bookshelf! I miss my books! We just turned expats and the most heart breaking thing for me was to leave all my books behind.. 😦

    Like

    • Aw, I’m sorry! I feel your pain. I’m moving to another country in two weeks, and I only have room for five of my precious books. I think I’m blogging about them now because I can’t believe I’m finally leaving them all behind, if only for a year. It must be exciting having moved to a different country, though!

      Like

      • Oh, in two weeks, you ll know exactly how I feel ! Yes it’s been quite the adventure- moving to a new country! I thought of bringing select few books with me but I got paranoid ( I own these books since many many years) – what if the airline loses my baggage!! So I kept them back home.. 🙂 my loved ones are chasing me to move to ebooks! I would love to as well BUT paper is paper!! So I will have best of both worlds – Thank you very much! 😉

        Like

        • Haha, yes that’s definitely a problem to think of! I might have to take my absolute favorites in carry-on, although knowing me, I’d be the one to lose them! (I’m notoriously bad at holding onto books after twelve hour flights. I’ve lost more than one that way.)

          Yes, I completely agree with you. Paper is paper, and so much more enjoyable than E-books!

          Like

  2. YOUR BOOKSHELVES ARE BEAUTIFUL! I FEEL LIKE I COULD STARE AT THEM FOR DAYS! I probably rearrange my books on a daily basis. I always feel like I constantly need to reorganize them. Some people change their hair color. I change the theme to my bookshelves. I do have a favorite bookshelf. Since I don’t have a huge amount of books on my shelves that are my favorites (most of my favorites are from the library and I just don’t own them), I have them on my headboard so I can sleep by favorites. I’ve had several different themes. I’ve had no order and I’ve had alphabetical. I think my favorite is by genre though. I have four shelves in my room, my TBR shelf so I can see the books that I need to read, books I’ve read, classics/my Little House books, and I have my favorites. In those categories, I have it arranged by genre. I will be getting new bookshelves soon so that means I have to reorganize them again.

    Like

    • Aww, thank you so much! 🙂

      I definitely understand your compulsion to change things up so often! That’s a great idea to keep your books on your headboard! I would totally copy that, but my headboard is the kind of headboard that would make a dozen books come crashing down on my head during the early hours of the morning, haha.

      Yes, the classic genre categorization is really functional, because when you want to read a certain book, you already have all the similar ones grouped together and don’t have to scan all of your books to find one that you want to read.

      Like

      • No problem!

        Haha wouldn’t want that to happen!

        Exactly and if you want to read a book on your bookshelf but from let’s say, contemporary, you can just go to where your contemporary books are and take one of those.

        Like

  3. I adore the current way you organize your shelfs. I am much more simpler so I just organize them however, and have one stack of TBR. What do you recommend on your shelf in the category of pre-1950?

    Like

  4. I love that you have some books facing outward, like Eleanor and Park, it looks really nice that way.

    My shelves are all alphabetized, I think any other organization would probably drive me nuts just knowing it’s not in order. I also have about 4 shelves of TBR books separate from all the books I’ve already read.

    Like

    • Thanks!

      Yes, alphabetized is great for knowing exactly where everything is. That’s usually my default–while organized in separate genres.

      Wow, you have a lot of TBR books! Usually my TBR books are just lying in various places around my room, although I technically have an ‘official’ place for them, haha.

      Like

  5. I love your bookshelves. They’re so organized. My books are everywhere, and I have way too many bookshelves. I don’t have favorites shelf, because then my authors would be mixed up. One advantage of a messy bookshelf is I can pull out a book I didn’t know I owned. 😉

    Like

    • Thanks!
      Yes, I don’t know how, but they are indeed organized. I guess at least one part of my messy life has to be, haha.
      Yes, that is a delightful advantage! I love finding a book that has otherwise escaped my notice 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

